The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Off Lead Play - Crouching and Pouncing

Elf

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hello, I’m new here and a novice dog owner. I have a male Labradoodle, nearly 2, not intact, medium sized. We live near fields and woodland, and walk the dog there along with many others. My dog is very playful, and often crouches and pounces on approaching dogs. He loves to chase and be chased, and engage in “mouthy” play. My question relates to etiquette. When approaching dogs are on lead, I will put my dog on lead. Simply to ensure my dog doesn’t engage. However, when an approaching dog is off-lead, and my dog runs up to play, some owners don’t like this (even though the dogs seem to have a great time playing). I don’t know what the problem is as the dogs seem to love it, BUT I am new to this so would really appreciate some help and advice on how to deal with this. Thank you 😊

Welcome to the forum - that's a good question, and it's great that you want to follow etiquette.

Plenty of people do let their dogs approach other off-lead dogs, but it really is best if you can prevent your dog from doing this. Some dogs can find being approached by a dog they don't know scary, and your dog crouching and pouncing on them could upset them even more. Also, some dogs could be older and fragile, and a labradoodle paw on the back could injure them - or they may wheel away and tweak something. Dogs who would prefer your dog didn't go up to them, for whatever reason, of course should be entitled to be off-lead (as long as they don't endanger other dogs of course).