The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

150 Yards

gogomollie

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
I currently have a 7 month greyhound X whippet and for about 6 weeks i have been slipping her at home in a field about 50 - 70 yards.

Today she has just ran her 2nd handslip at 150 yards and she clocked a time of 9.31 seconds. Her last 25 - 35 yards her front legs started to slow down compared to her back ones.

Now the reason i am posting this is a guy told me that I should not be slipping her the full distance at this age he said he has been doing this for 10 years and although he is not telling me what to do he thinks i should take his advice.

Seeing her run the way she does i dont think there is a problem, the last 25 yards or so i believe is something that she should keep doing in order to over come this error. I am new to this game so please post me your opinion

gogomollie said:
I currently have a 7 month greyhound X whippet and for about 6 weeks i have been slipping her at home in a field about 50 - 70 yards.
Today she has just ran her 2nd handslip at 150 yards and she clocked a time of 9.31 seconds. Her last 25 - 35 yards her front legs started to slow down compared to her back ones.

Now the reason i am posting this is a guy told me that I should not be slipping her the full distance at this age he said he has been doing this for 10 years and although he is not telling me what to do he thinks i should take his advice.

Seeing her run the way she does i dont think there is a problem, the last 25 yards or so i believe is something that she should keep doing in order to over come this error. I am new to this game so please post me your opinion