The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

A Few Questions.....

blondie55

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi All,
I am new to the forum and have a few questions if you don't mind...
So we are due to pick our shih tzu puppy up in 2 weeks when he will be 8 wks old.
My background is that a year ago my beloved 17 year old yorkie passed away and after a year to give myself some time we've decided we now feel ready for a new addition! Our home really isn't the same without a dog! Anyway it seems a lots changed since I last had a pup in the house and i have never before heard of 'puppy crates'. The way i trained Oscar (17 years ago) was to leave him in the bathroom (at night and when i went out) with his dog bed and newspaper by the door. During the day i would stand with him in the garden every half hour or so while he did his business. So now i keep reading about crates and crate training.... is this a better way than what i did before? What happens at night with really young pups who can't hold themselves??? if they are locked in a crate without papers down? I am confused!
confused5.gif

Congratulations of the imminent arrival of your new pup - you must be very excited!