The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Advice needed on what product is best for detangling fur. Advice needed at where i should start?

Scattymare

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi i am a newbie here and hope im commenting on the correct page if im not then please let me know.. Anyway im in a bit of a pickle as my 6month old 'Cavapuli' (Ckcs XC Hungarian Puli XC Poodle) coat has started to matt. His 1st time at the groomers when he was about 4 months old didn't go too well at all,that's another story! The groomer bathed and dried him and just trimmed around his eyes and intimate areas but wouldn't do a full cut as he had to be 6month old. Now at 6months he's starting to matt and has matt balls behind each ear and i have come across a few more here and there whilst brushing him. So what im after is either recommendations for a product that will help me loosen up these knots or should i just shave him but if i do shave him then surely to get rid of any knots id have to shave him right back wouldn't i? This is the 1st time for me having a dog that looks like an oversized cotton bud as iv always had very short haired dogs and could really do with some advice on where i should start.
Thankyou in advance ☺️

Attachments

• 20240820_203450.jpg
    20240820_203450.jpg
    152.7 KB · Views: 569
I sympathise, that combination of coat types sounds like a nightmare. There are commercial detangling products you can buy - probably at places like Pets at Home or online. It might be easier in the long run to keep him clipped really short - matts aren't just unsightly, they cause the hair to pull on the skin, so they are uncomfortable or even painful.

If you are happy with your groomer, they are the best person to ask. They may have access to detangling products that are not sold by everyday retailers.