The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

berry and nut eating

Sez1

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi all,
Just a quick query.
My spaniel who is 2 has discovered acorns the squirrels have buried, investigated the taste of holly berries( seems to leave now), eaten all my blueberries, the odd apple from next door, finds walnuts from who knows where, and is obsessed by hawthorn berries which he hoovers daily at the minute.
I have stopped panicking over the odd acorn or walnut but this year's hawthorn berries are unripe. Should I be more concerned?

Hi Sez
I'm no expert, but our young mongrel gorged on grapes, nuts and red apples for a year with no ill effects. She seems to have gone off them now, for some reason.

Please keep her away from grapes. For some reason, some dogs become fatally ill with kidney failure. Not all dogs are affected, and unlike chocolate where there is a correlation between the size of the dog and the amount consumed, with grapes there is no clear link. I saw a study was done somewhere - Australia or Canada maybe - that indicated the variety of grape was significant, I'll need to see if I can find it.

Thanks for the tip. I'll do my best. It's a challenge in the autumn here with wild grapes everywhere. As far as the OP is concerned, I've learned to trust my street dog/mongrel's eating instincts, including when she occasionally hokes out some specific type of emetic plant (doesn't seem to be plain grass) and chews it to make herself vomit - behaviour either learned before we got her, or instinctive. Not sure about pedigrees though...

Just read somewhere that hawthorne seeds (not berries), like apple seeds, contain cyanide-based amygdalin, although only in tiny quantities.