The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Buying a new puppy

Stuart O

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi there. Firstly really sorry if this has been asked already.

So I have always had dogs in my family growing up. Since getting my own family and having our own house we have been desperate to get a family dog. However due to our working arrangements we have never felt it woukd be fair on a dog. Recently our jobs have changed a bit partly due to lock down but also for the future meaning we will be around for a dog. Great news! Finally we can get a puppy. Unfortunately now we have started looking the prices seem very high. I'm no expert but over a grand for a jack russell for example seems a little extortionate. I've read a few articles that due to the lock down dog and sales have spiked and dogs are in demand due to people being at home even though many may back to work soon. My question really is does anyone know if prices are likely to drop once normality kicks back in? I'm desperate for a dog but can afford current prices.
Thank you for your time. I really hope the pups purchased during lock down aren't suddenly returned when people are told they need to go back to work.

I think you are right about a lot of people thinking (mistakenly imo) that this would be a good time to get a puppy.

Jack Russells are good, hardy little dogs so great choice. I don't know when prices will go back to normal, but I bet if you look in rescues a few weeks after they have, you will find young dogs who have been given up. Maybe not so many actual pups, but young enough to fit easily into your family.

Or, if you are looking for a pup, Champdogs is one of the reliable places to look for a responsible breeder rather than a puppy farmer or BYB. You could also find breeders and ask if they have litters planned.