The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Female Dalmation question about bodylanguage

Wanu

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi, doggy forum.

Before I ask this question let me set the scene. I'm not a dog expert, so this might come with bits 'n' bobs of my own speculation that might not make much sense. Okay, it's a bit of a story to set up... here we go...

I moved into a lodging type situaiton some 4 years ago, and the live-in landlords/homeowners had 6 dogs, a mixture of dalmations and rhodesian ridgebacks. It was a long standing family, with all different ages, and over the next 3 years, we lost two of those dogs.

That was a little alarming. I've always sort of fussed the dogs if they're around, we 'get on well' as it were, and I have clear favourites: a guy dalmation who's always exciteable and engaged (and frisky if he gets a chance - the birth of 9 pups not so long ago was actually a kind of accident, and he's the daddy); and a huuuuuuuuuuuuuuge guy rhodesian ridgeback, a monolith of a dog. Playful when among the others, but when coming for fuss, he's nonplussed, sort of leans against you, and is more likely to give you an intelligent look than a jump up. The guys are cool! There are three others: a female dalmation, and two pups... teenagers I suppose, in doggy terms, one dalmation and one rhodesian ridgeback, who are endlessly energetic, an ongoing tornado of brown, black, and white blurs!