The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Getting A Toy Poodle Puppy

YELLOWCAR107

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi,

I'm very new to all of this. My husband has had dogs all his life and we have finally been given the opportunity to have one. My mother in law has two toy poodles and they are now pregnant! She has offered to give us one to welcome into our little family. We are so excited.

We have a 5 year old and a 2 year old and they beg us every day to have a dog like their Nana.

What I want to know is how to prepare for the arrival. What do I need in place, what should I have ready and some tips I would be grateful for. We are fully prepared to pay for anything that will be needed but need more if idea what we will need to do to be ready. The puppy mother is due Late September but we probably won't get them until October time or later.

Any advice please?

Thank you so much in advance

The book Easy Peasy Puppy Squeezy is getting good reviews, I think @JudyN has a recommendation too.

Then, there's a list that can be as long as you want it to be. Bed, collar, lead, name tag with your name and address are the basics. You can add toys, but puppies often like to rip up old toilet roll tubes and so on!

You could start checking puppy classes, it's a good idea to go along and observe how they are run before you get the puppy. If you say what area you live in, someone may have recommendations.

For food, you will want to keep the puppy on the same food as the breeder was using, at least at first.

I recommend NOT buying puppy pads, for house training they give mixed messages about whether indoor toileting is allowed or not and confuse puppies.

Hi,