The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Gnawing or chewing?

spanielmad

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
I let my dogs gnaw on natural things such as hooves. My second dog would do this all day long if i let her. She's 14 months old, are teeth fully developed at this age or does it depend on breed? I hear so many age contradictions with dogs regarding what age they stop growing or are fully developed. All I'm concerned about is whether gnawing on natural products could harm her teeth?

I am no expert so I can't say with any degree of certainty.

But it's likely that her teeth are stronger than anything you give her. And gnawing is generally good for dental hygiene. If it was causing her discomfort she wouldn't do it. Chewing is also a self gratifying behaviour so it will make her feel happy and relaxed.

Larger dogs do mature faster, but in a youngster the difference is quite small so as long as the chew is safe from splintering or being a choke hazard, just go for it and be pleased it's a chew and not a shoe!

Edited to add - rawhide is not as natural as you would be led to believe. Raw chicken wings are amazing. Pizzles seem to be popular... - with dogs anyway!

Last edited by a moderator: