The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Hello

Emmamae269

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi

A newbie here! I have a 12 year old Norwegian Elkhound called Shadow.

I will be needing some advice for him so I'll have a look around to see if I can see anything that has already been mentioned.

Emmamae269

Welcome to the forum. Lots of helpful people here - just ask away! :)

Hello everyone and thank you for the warm welcome!

My problem is around his behaviour, but I think it may be due to his age rather than something that can be trained. It started last summer when we had to put him in kennels for the first time in ages as where he normally went couldn't take him. He was a bit clingy after that but nothing too bad. Since Christmas, his clingyness has become a lot more of an issue. He has always slept upstairs on the floor next to my bed, but he used to want to come down in the early hours. He would just curl up on the settee and sleep until morning.

Now, it's gone from that to him not even sleeping upstairs at all (this has happened gradually over the last few months) but he doesn't want to be on his own down there, and one of us has to sleep with him (we're on the settee and he's on the floor). If we don't go, he just barks and barks with no let up and nobody can sleep, which isn't great as we have neighbours on both sides. He can get upstairs, as he comes up to check where we are upstairs in the evening but he runs back down when he sees that we are there.

So far the Vet has tried him with Aktivait tablets (to help with brain activity) which didn't help and more recently she gave him diazepam to help with anxiety but he reacted really badly to them and ended up falling downstairs, vomiting and being really disoriented. Plus, he still didn't sleep on his own!