The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Help Barking Puppy!!!

barkingmad

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
:wacko: Im new to this and looking for advice, I have had my 10 wk old pup for 6 nights now and his constant barking is driving me crazy, Whenever I leave him in the room on his own or close the door of his crate he barks constantly, sometimes for as long as 20 mins. I only go to him and let him out when he has quietened down. I am at home all day and only crate him for approx 30 mins in the morning and an hour in the afternoon. He also spends the night in his crate in my bedroom with me. I am following all the advice I have read in books, I feed him in the crate, give toys, treats etc. How long will it take for him to realise barking will get him nowhere. Im worried if this continues it will become a habit for him as I read barking makes dogs feel good. Is this normal behaviour? should I continue doing what im doing or am I doing it all wrong? Help me please!!!!!

P.S He is the same when in his crate in the car (he has only been taken on short journeys so far)

Oops perhaps I should have put this in the faqs section, I really could do with some good advice im so worried im doing something wrong :(

sounds like your doing it all right :thumbsup:

If you read up in the FAQ sections some pups took a while and some were fine straight away....

Ignoring the behaviour is best and your doing well, :thumbsup:

Buy some ear plugs it wont last for ever

Oh and as for the driving thing, my whippet Tilly used to bark if we went over 60, i had my own speedcamera shes 15 months now and much better :huggles:

kim and tilly r right love, just keep at it. dogs aint stupid and ur pup will learn in the end as long as u r consistant with the training.