The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

How do you show you whippet?

Florence

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
I like to hear you show people how you show you whippet in the ring.

I have notice some run with their whippet in the ring and other walk fast in the ring.

I have been told that my whippet look best when I walk fast, but I like to hear what you other show-people do with you whippet, and also why?

Florence

The Missing Link's Whippet

I'm VERY new to this, so I'm just sharing my own experience with my one whippet in the ring.  Savvy (Savannah aka Aphrael Aoife) is a really bad puller on her regular lead, but she has 'twigged' that on the show lead and in the ring or on mats she is to 'behave' and 'walk nice'.  However she has her moments LOL.  We started off slow as anything faster seemed to encourage her to run.  Now that she has gained confidence I try to walk fast, but let her set the pace and I try to keep up with her rather than the other way round.  However if I were to run she would take that as permission to REALLY run and it would spoil the way she looked (mostly becuase I'd be tugging her back LOL).  So we have finally found a good 'walking fast' gait that suits her and me perfectly and tend to stay away from running.

Wendy

Finding the right pace does help the dog in the ring.  If you go too slowly a dog with a good stride may not show itself off as well as it might, but going too fast makes the whippet scramble to keep up.