The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

I'm new to this - looking for the right breed.

Kerribobbins

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi, my husband and I are thinking of getting a puppy but are disagreeing on breeds. He wants a staffy as he had one as a child, but I find them a bit ugly to be honest. We don't want a dog that is too big, so I was thinking a border or patterdale terrier. The dog is likely to go to work with my husband and sit in the van as it grows up, and then we'll take it for a walk in an evening. I'd prefer a dog which doesn't shed too much. Any ideas on if these breeds would be suitable. Thanks!!

HI there,

First of all, you shouldnt base your opinion of dogs on how they look. Staffies are beautiful dogs who are very loyal and a wonderful breed to own if if you have the time.

You need to think of what your lifestyles are like.

Will you have time to put in the training?

How often will the puppy be on its own?

How much can you walk the dog?

How active do you want your dog to be?

How much time are you able to give to the dog?

And the most important is will you have the time to put in when you first get a puppy?

Puppies need constant attention, and must be watched very carefully, as they get into all sorts of mischief! This is adorable at first but can lead to bigger problems down the line.

All of these are major factors into getting a dog.

If you dont have much time for them, and you can only give the dog one walk a day then you dont want to get a working dog, like a terrier, gun dog etc.

Terriers are working dogs, and come in all shapes and sizes and are known to be very hard to train as they are a very stubborn breed and you will need a lot of patience with them.

However if you can put the time and effort in then you will have one very clever and loyal dog on your hands.