The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Is this big enough for whippet

dye29

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
hi all im a newbie and would like some advise i am building a kennel tommorow because i fancy getting myself a small whippet will the bedding area be ok 3ft x 3ft or is that too small i can push to 3x4 so he has a good 6ft run area also what size hatch will be good to go to and from run

Hello, I have had whippets for 30 years. Generally speaking whippets do not do well in kennels. I would suggest you either plan to house the dog indoors or pick a different breed.

I defo cant have one in house and for the kennel im fully insulating it with 3" kingspan and kennel heater if needed and the bed is approx 1ft off the concrete

It's not just about insulation and heating. It's about social interaction too.

I agree with the above. Whippets, and many other breeds, do not do well in kennels.

Could you not have an indoor kennel? Apart from the welfare of the dog, you will miss so much from your dog being outside.

i do get what you are saying but theres know way i can have one in house , im not making excuses but i will be with the dog all the time its not getting left in kennel 24/7 the only time it will be in there is when im in bed , my ferrets are with me more than some peoples family pets lol