The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Metacam

Lisa S

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi, I have never used this before and wondered what the best way to administer is? Is it best to put it into food or try to get it straight into his mouth via the syringe? Does it matter from an effectiveness point of view whether they get in food or directly into the mouth?

Also, can you use this at any time if you think your dog is in pain?

Thanks

If I remember rightly it is supposed to be given with food. It should say on the packaging anyway. :thumbsup:

It's probably best to stick with the guide for administration because some drugs can cause problems to the stomach if they're not accompanied by food. With regards to doseage, again stick to the prescription. If adequate pain relief isn't being obtained get the dog back to the vet because overdosing could be lethal. If your considering it for a dog in pain that hasn't seen the vet I would consult with them first. My own vet has been quite reasonable in the past and asked me what's available in the medicine cupboard if he hasn't been able to see mine so don't think your being unreasonable by giving them a bell.

My old greyhound was on Metacam for her last few years to help with her arthritis and it was very effective. I used to put it in her food.

I usually have some in the cupboard here and would give it to a dog as a one-off painkiller if needed, but wouldn't give it on a regular basis without the vet's say-so, it can cause stomach problems used longer term and doesn't suit all dogs.