The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Newbie here!

Tracey29

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi all

This is my first post on here and I'm looking through the resources at the top of the page and will look for individual posts / chats later on.

I've got a very excitable 16 month old black cockapoo called Bella who's not as well trained as I'd like. I'm hoping it's not too late to undo the bad behaviours she's picked up and get some new ones bedded in.

Hiya! Bella sounds just like my 2yo cocker. And no it's never too late - I can promise that from improvements in my 10yo rescue boy- still getting better! I think with a young high-spirited breed you have to be realistic and let them have their zoomies, their mad-moments (and more). Kindness and patience and positive reinforcement pay off in the end. Though I have to say I've often done the What-a-good-boy through gritted teeth when he's finally done as asked...missing for 8 minutes in the wood yesterday, returns looking like a compost heap: "What a good boy!" :rolleyes:

Hi Merlina

Thank you for your reply. I do let her have her mad times - on the basis that she's a dog not a robot :)

She's really intelligent and picks things up quickly, she's also very strong willed too.