The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Old Jack Russell Barking at night

Buzz lightyear

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
My 14year old Jack Russell has started barking at night and won't stop. He's now deaf and gets agitated now looking for me around the house. His routine and environment hasn't changed he's always slept downstairs in the kitchen. We have another Jack Russell who is 11 and they are together all the time. The 11 year old is fine. I don't really want to bring them upstairs to sleep as they always want to sleep on our bed. Does anyone have any other suggestions re medication etc? I am longing for a good nights sleep

Dogs can, like humans, get an age related dementia. I have no direct experience with it in dogs but in humans disorientation and confusion at night time is quite common. Your vet may be able to prescribe something that helps. Although if sleeping on your bed would be reassuring for him, I'd reconsider that.

I agree with Joanne. What about a cosy crate next to your bed? You could try giving him something with your scent on too. Must be awful to be deaf and wake up not knowing where everyone is. We can read or watch tv, with subtitles, but a dog must feel totally isolated. You would think that having a doggy companion would help but, as with separation anxiety, it does not work like that. Dogs become very bonded to their human.

There has been huge advances in geriatric medicine so well worth a trip to the vet to see if they can help him.

One of our old dogs started doing strange things at night. (she was put to sleep about 6 years ago), at the age of 13.