The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Pick Of The Litter

derbygirl

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hello, I am new to k9 and wonder whether you can clarify something for me. Does 'pick of the litter' mean that the stud dog owner can have their choice of any pup in the litter even if the bitches owner wants the same one? or is this out dated? Also, is it normal practice for the stud dog owner to have a puppy in lieu of the stud fee? Is this so when the value of the pup is higher than the stud fee, as in most cases in whippets. Could you let me know of any other kinds of arrangements that are accepted practice-indeed is there really accepted practice on this topic? (w00t) thanks nikki