The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Puppy won't eat.

Seamonkey50

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
My jackadoodle pup (he's 9 months old) is refusing to eat! He used to be so keen at his feeding times and completely devour his food now he turns his nose up and wanders away. He'd rather chew sticks and stones when we're out walking or in the garden. If I put food on my hand he'll take it ok but doesn't take very much. This has been going on for just under a week now, I'm new to being a dog owner so I'm unsure if this is a phase or should I take him to the vet? Other experienced dog owners have suggested changing his food (ive done this to no avail) or with holding his food for a day then feeding him but this hasn't worked either! He seems healthy and happy enough but he must be losing weight, it's such a worry. Has anyone else experienced this? Is it a phase? Thanks in advance for any help.

Morning!

Have you been feeding him anything other than his dog food? Like your own food for example?

some dogs get used to be getting bits here and there from human food that they then refuse to eat their own food. If this is the case stop feeding him human food (it's not good for him anyway and its bad for his teeth) straight away and leave his own food down for him. When he is hungry enough he will eat it.

If you aren't feeding him human food, then try making meal times for him exciting.

For example:

If you soak his dried food until it is soft and soggy mush it up and then put it into a kong, he then has to play with the kong to lick the food out of it. You could even freeze it to make the kong last longer. Especially with the warm weather coming up he should enjoy it being so cold. You can do this for each meal time, instead of just giving him his food in the bowl

OR