The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Training whippetsfor racing

hhoughton

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
I was browsing through the threads, and noticed in the message titled Whippet Age on page one that some clubs have pamphlets for training dogs for racing.  I am very new to whippet racing here in the U.S., and would be very interested as to how owners train their whippets for racing in the UK.  I specifically am interested in thoughts about whippets playing with each other.  If kennel mates are allowed to play with each other and run and wrestle, is this thought to be any factor in dogs interfering or fouling other dogs during race meets.  Also, how often can one run their dog to the lure without making it boring to the dogs or making it less fun for them.  I am finishing building a lure machine that I plan to use as a way to keep my whippet keen and in shape between the sporadic meets I would be able to attend and didn't want to "over do" it . The pamphlet I think was mentioned in a reply from Mark Roberts to the aforementioned post on "Whippet Age".  Thank you for any replies.

Heath Houghton