The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

About to take the plunge.... all advice welcome!

Katalyst

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi there!

So... afer 10 years of saying "one day...." I am going to look at a dog on thursday. Now... he may well end up not being right for me but this is a major step and has been a long time coming.

So.... basically, I am looking at lurchers. I particularly love the look of saluki crosses so have been aiming in that direction.

I work as a zoo keeper/animal technician/teacher at a college sited on enormous and beautiful grounds ranging from arable land to woodland. I have my name put down for a staff kennel already and only work until 5pm with an hours break which is usually spent mooching around the grounds anyway.

My brother and his fair lady live with me and work different shifts which means puppy will very rarely be alone. My mother works in a vet surgery and puppy can spent time there too. So although I work, I don't think it'll be an issue especially as pup will be able to come with me once he's ready.

So my questions.... brace yourselves for the essay....

I have done a lot of reading but as always, the advice is broad and conflicting.

I and am aware of salukis' selective hearing and that they can be a bit difficult to teach reliable recall. All advice and suggestions from saluki lurcher owners is appreciated. What works and what doesn't?

The pup I am going to look at is being fed on CSJ puppy food. Obviously should I choose him, he will remain on this in the interim but is this a good enough quality food for the long term? If not, suggestions please!