The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Canix in aberdeen

mac295

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi

Does anyone live in Aberdeen and do CaniX with their dog? I'm keen to start this but it would be good to speak to someone that does it for advice etc as I've never done it before.

I've just had to google CaniX to see what it is! :>

I couldn't imagine running with my dog, she has two speeds, sprint and slow walk lol.

Can't offer adivce but i'm sure they'll be others along soon who can :)

Thanks Oreo, not sure if Mac will take to it, also afraid that will get dragged off into the bushes when he decides to chase something, can see quite a few accidents for me before I get the hang of it :lol:

One of the things with running with your dog is that your dog is far less likely to go dashing off into the bushes purely because they have so much of their attention on running with you and where their feet are going that they have less brain power free to react to whatever they see. This works to the extent that fast parallel walking or running can be used to introduce dogs who are likely to have issues with each other because they are unable to focus their attention so much on each other while they're running and trying to follow you at the same time.

I've never been able to go running with Molly because of my disabilities, but she would love it. I've got several friends who don't specifically do Canix, but who do run cross country with their dogs and their dogs, from Jack Russell to Ridgeback sized, just love it.