The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Genetics, Health And Breeding?

Eceni

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hello

I'm a complete newcomer to the whippet world, but have just finished a marathon read through the UK/USA showing thread and was immensely impressed by the honesty and integrity of the dialogue from around the world. As someone said, it was a degree in whippets and has already changed how I look at the pictures I see on the web and will doubtless change how I look at the real thing at Coventry next weekend.

So... I'm a lurcher owner just now, and intend that the next dog in my life will be a whippet. I'm also a vet, or used to be before I gave up to write novels for a living (which means I have time to have my own animals, which I never did before).

I'm not in any hurry and want to do my research properly. As part of that, I've been looking at a list on the net which seems to be both sane and comprehensive, which lists the known inherited diseases in dogs by breed.

(http://www.nzymes.com/Articles/hereditary_...gs.htm#Section1)

Looking at it, I find that whippets have a number of inherited diseases. In the understanding that this is an open list and we don't want to slander anyone, I wondered if our experts from around the world could tell me

a) the incidence of these in the breed

b) what testing is done in the various continents

c) what lines to avoid as a prospective whippet owner who wants a friend for life and would like to do competitive agility and maybe (having read the thread) to show. (you may need to PM me off list about this)