The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Hi, im new to this and looking for cool tech.

DPalouG

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hello everyone,

Im new to the world of dogs, I used to be a fish person but now I want to make the step into dogs by adopting a friend's dog.

I am quite into technology and I would like to know what kind of technologies for dogs are out there, I heard about automatic food dispensers, gates that you control with your phone, pet scanners for the phone, LED collars...

Hope you people could help me to decide which one are good!

Honestly, I would forget about the gadgets for now. Wait until your dog has settled in, then think about what equipment would actually fill a need. Automatic food dispensers are pointless if you're there to feed the dog (which would be preferable anyway), there will be no need to control gates if you don't need gates, no need for LED collars if you find you can't let your dog off the lead when it's dark anyway...

The danger of being tempted by the technology first is that you will put the requirements of the gadgets before those of the dog, who shouldn't just be there as an excuse to try out fun gadgets (I'm not suggesting this is your reason for getting a dog, but I do know the lure of smart gizmos, having a gadget-mad son).

Actually, you've got me thinking - having a food-guarding dog, I can see the temptation of a remotely controlled dog gate........

Hi Judy,

Thanks for the heads up, I understand the dog comes always first and assure you that all his needs will be covered, Im just the kind of person that like tech stuff not only for the fun but for the simplicity.