The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

How do I get my dog to Drop the ball please!

JenC

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
hello - newbie here looking for advice on getting my 1yr ball obsessed border collie to drop a ball when she brings it back instead of 'dancing' and rounding us. Cassie is very ball focussed but she has a little routine when we are ball-playing.....when we first arrive at park and she is let off leash, she runs about 50m away and lies down/hides behind bush/hill/tree etc waiting for ball throw then she darts out grabs it and runs back to us, runs round us, dances a bit (to see if we engage in chase?), drops it but wont leave it so she snatches it back if we try to pick it up. Eventually, on her terms, she will drop it and stalk off again to take up her hiding position to wait for next throw. Occasionlly, she'll stalk off again with it still in her mouth and drop it on her run out. Shes not fussy where she drops it and this often means that other dogs nick her ball.

I'd love to get her to drop it at my feet. We do training in house and she will place the ball in my hand for a treat but outdoors she refuses any treats (turns her head away) as the ball is the only thing she is interested in. I want to crack this as we are now doing flyball and after the flyball run she does the same dancing around and wont come close enough for me to get her and sometimes darts off back down the flyball run. anyway....sorry for long post! Look forward to hearing your replies.

Ooooh- interesting BC behaviour there!

Welcome to DogForum BTW :)

I would assume from your comments that balls outrank treats? If you could find a treat that outranked balls then that would be a really good thing to use for training her into a new routine of how to return the ball to you.