The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Lumps And Bumps

Richard/Kobi

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi, First Post.

Can any 1 help me here, kobi is 10months old, sometimes when we come back from a walk he starts getting lumps and bumps on his Back. Sometimes his face and throat swell right up. The vet isn't sure about this problem.

Any help would be great

Thanks Richard

Last edited by a moderator:
It sounds like it could be an allergy problem, but I am no expert. Perhaps you need a second opinion from another vet?

Hi

It does sound like an allergy. I am surprised that the vet was not able to come up with something. You could try a half or just a quarter Piriton antihistamine tablet, the old kind, not the daily non drowsey ( the old type ones you take 3 times a day are safer).Piriton is also available in a chlidrens syrup. Try this an hour before you go for a walk and see if the bumps still appear. I agree that a second opinion might be required but I am really surprised that the vet did not give you an antihistamine to try and see if this solved the problem.

I have used piriton in the past when my dog had multiple wasp stings and colllapsed. The vet said that it was safe to do so.

Good luck :luck:

Sounds exactly like an allergy to me. Finding out what the allergy is to, might be difficult if its something out on a walk. This is my boy after a wasp sting, I keep antihistamine everywhere since it happened - car, caravan, indoors - goodness knows what would happen if he was stung by a swarm - doesn't bear thinking about.