The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

New To Showing

GemmaT

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi everyone,

Im thinking of getting into showing (haven told Pimms yet!). Can anyone give me any tips/recommend any books that I would find useful?

Idiot proof please! I have no experience of showing AT ALL!

:cheers:

Thanks

Gemma and Pimms

Hi Gemma - whereabouts are you located. I never did find any books that were of any use. My best advice came from whippet people and from ringcraft classes.

If you let us know where you are someone may be able to point you in the direction of a local training class, or anyone who's close enough might be willing to get together for a session or two.

Wendy

chelynnah said:
Hi Gemma - whereabouts are you located.  I never did find any books that were of any use.  My best advice came from whippet people and from ringcraft classes. 
If you let us know where you are someone may be able to point you in the direction of a local training class, or anyone who's close enough might be willing to get together for a session or two.

Wendy

This is exactly what I did. Books are great, but they can't physically stand there and give you feedback on how you have placed your dog etc.

Also, try and go to as many shows as you possibly can, the dog papers are good for this, Our Dogs and Dog World. At the back of each they have sections dedicated to all the upcoming shows. There is nothing better than watching the professionals doing their thing (w00t)

If you are brave (unlike me :b ) you will be able to approach people and just get chatting. The one thing I have found is that generally the "whippet" people are very helpful and gracious on the whole, compared to other circuits.