The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Pupp waking up early

Bearzzzzzz

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
hi everyone this is my first time posting and my first time as a dog owner. i have a question in regard to bedtime/early morning routines.

We got our cocker spaniel at 8 weeks old she has been going to bed in her crate at around 11 ish after a good play to tire her out. she has been sleeping trough to the morning with no noise in the night till around 6.30 in the morning when she starts whimpering so i go downstairs to let her out of the crate to wee, then i stay up and play with her before the kids wake up for school etc.. but now she has started waking earlier and earlier at around 5-5.30. if i dont go to her the whimpers change to a yelping, i dont know what to do for the best as we have neighbours and the walls are paper thin so i dont want to disturb them. the kids are waking up early when they here her too so they are tired and grumpy too.

does anyone have any advice on what i should do??

many thanks in advance

Hi there,

Simple answer is to ignore her. That's it.

In the morning when she whimpers for the first time you will know that she needs the toilet, so the best thing to do, is get her out of the crate by picking her up (no fussing just hold her) pop her outside to go to the toilet, praise her when she goes then pick her back up (no fussing again) and pop her back in her crate. Reason for picking her up as if you let her run about she will think its play time and 5.30am is not playtime!

She will soon learn that it's time to get up when you say it is. If she whimpers again ignore her. You will know that she doesn't need the toilet as you have just put her outside so she just wants out.

She will catch on.