The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Puppies

mazza

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Just wondered why it is that all puppies have worms when they are born. :unsure:

I'm no expert, but I was reading a site the other day about worms as my pup has them. This site said that if puppys are born with them then it's because the mother has had them and it's been passed onto them, plus it can be passed through her milk. Apparently a mother and her pups can produce so many hundreds of paracites leading to worms in just a few days.

Unfortunatly though I can't remember the name of that particular site. I just looked through www.ask.co.uk and looked up worms in puppies.

Hope this has helped a little

Take Carexx

Jammie

I think that the worm larvae rest in the bitches muscles and lie dormant. When she is in whelp they move across the placenta into the unborn pups. They then cross infect thru the milk and when the bitch cleans the pups. That is why you start worming at 2 weeks. ILKC, am I barking up the wrong tree? (w00t)

As far as I know all dogs, cats, horses etc have worms and should be treated on a regular basis throughout their lives with the relevant vermifuge!!!!

Worms lay dormant in the bitches system. It is the hormones of pregnancy that gets them active again. :thumbsup:

yes its perfectly normal for pups to be born with worms, so thats why they are wormed at 2, 5, and 8 wks old. Then after that they should be wormed once a month till they are 6 months old. It is not a huge concern, only if the pups are left without treatment, then the worms can eventually take over and literally clog up the little pup! Worming is essential in the first few months- quite an event if you have 10 little ones to treat! :blink:

Juley said: