The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Settling In Tips Please

HopeRosie

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
As all new puppy mums/dads can appreciate Im excited/nervous/wanting to do everything right for Evie when I get her home on Saturday. Ive had dogs for nine years so Im not a dog newbie, but Ive never had a whippy before and every breed is different obviously.

Has anyone got any tips or suggestions for the weekend/first few days ahead to help her settle in?

My plan for the weekend is to collect her in the morning, and my children are away with their dad all weekend so it will just be Rosie and I in the house. I will have all her bed and everything all ready. Rosie is extremely laidback and Im not expecting any problems introducing them, but there is enough room in our house to give Rosie a space to chill out if necessary.

Im going to stick to her feeding schedule thats shes on at the moment, and just intend gently introducing her to the garden, and downstairs over the weekend. Playing with some of her new toys and starting to find out about her personality. Lots of :wub: and :huggles: and for her to find the comfiest spot in her bed to zonk out (hopefully lol).

Does this sound ok? When did you first take your puppy out in your arms to see the big wide world?

At bedtime Im not sure whats best to do, have her in her bed/crate in my bedroom for the first few nights or in her crate in the kitchen with my other dog from day one? Eventually I would like her to sleep in the kitchen/dining room with Rosie.

You wouldnt think I had dogs before would you :p

Just three sleeps left :wub: