The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Starting dog walking

Sophie101

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hello :)
I am a positive and ambition person. I love nature and animals.
My favorite pet is a dog.
After redundancy, I felt lost and I didn't know what I should do the next. I was wondered what I like and can do as a business so I found out that: maybe dog walking:)
I am totally new to this topic.
Definitely I would like to know about it and willing to any advice from who does dog walking:)

Thank you for attention and all the advice.
Sophie:)

I am not a dog walker but if I use a dog walker I would want the following (there will be more things, this isn't a complete list) -

• Criminal record disclosure check (not sure that's what it's currently called)
  • Insurance
  • Canine first aid certificate
  • A force free, R+ approach
  • Record keeping including my vet and emergency vet
  • Good understanding of canine behaviour, manners and body language - i.e. lots of experience of dogs; just them being your favourite animal wouldn't be enough for me
  • No more than five dogs at a time, three would be better - all dogs to be up to date with vaccinations, flea and worm treatments
  • Good risk assessment - knowing my dog is safe
  • The walk to last the full time I pay for - pick up and drop off not included
  • Van to be suitably kitted out with separate section for each dog
  • Walks when I want them, not when it suits the walker

Before I bought my own dog I used to dog-walk, so I know what I had to "offer" and what I look for now when looking for a dog-walker.
  • Experience with dogs: I'm a veterinary medicine student. I don't expect my dog-walker to have professional knowledge of dogs, but at least having owned dogs themselves before and/or having completed a course in dogbehaviour/training etc.