The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Training A Pup For Racing

Nubian

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hello again!

More advice required please!

I suspect that this is really a matter of personal preference and that there is probably no right or wrong answer but it would be nice to know of any general practices.I am a beginner so I have no personal experience.

My pup is 15 weeks today and I accept that I have ages to go before I can think about training him for his first race. I have had greyhounds before but all the schooling was done by trainers but as this is my first whippet this will be the first time for me. Greyhounds can't race until about 15 months but I understand that whippets start much earlier.

I have heard that some whippet pups would have had their first race by say 9 or 10 months. Is this about right? Does it depend on the size of the dog? For example with greyhounds the bigger dogs started later. Does the same go for whippets?

Should I wait to see what sort of size he is at say eight or nine months then start training him? Or should I be starting him off (whatever his size) by a certain age? Which is the best way to start him off? Do I get him fit by galloping him behind a lure or increasing the distance of his walks?

Is it better to start him off on the bends or on the straight? I have never seen any books on training whippets such as the type you can get for help in training greyhounds but know you there is a vast amount of knowledge out there...any advice?

Cheers!

my opinion for what it's worth,i would'nt run him/her full distance behind a lure untill at least 8/9 month or if him/her is first cross whippet x greyhound 11/12 month,start with getting them keen on the lure then just hand slip 20 yards behind a lure ;) they have to grow up first. :eek: