The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Whippets And Protein

ducklingpurple

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi folks,

I just found this discussion board this morning, and I'm so glad I did. :D

I have a 2 1/2 year old male whippet. He belonged to an old man who died, and we agreed to look after him. He is beautiful and so well behaved. Anyway, he has been eating dried food, but someone mentioned to me you have to be careful of the amount of protein a whippet eats. Is this right? And if so how much is he allowed? :blink:

Last edited by a moderator:
I can't really help you because I'm a novice whip-owner myself but just thought I'd say hi and welcome. What's your whippet called and do have any photos?? :wub:

My pup Josie is 4 and a half months, I feed her on Burns complete food and also raw minced beef/turkey/lamb/ a bit of fish, oh and our new experiment [SIZE=14pt]chicken wings[/SIZE]! Am thinking of going the whole hog with BARF and starting to whizz veggies in the liquidizer too as she loves the raw meat and is starting to seperate it from the Burns, scoffing the meat and leaving the Burns :angry:

Helen :thumbsup:

:D Hello Welcome to K9 :p

Sorry - not much help on the protein thing either other than I know that older dogs should have a reduced level than that of active/working dogs.

Like your purple duck avatar :lol:

Helena said:
I can't really help you because I'm a novice whip-owner myself but just thought I'd say hi and welcome. What's your whippet called and do have any photos?? :wub: