The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

working dogs with ferrets

Rachel

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
How is a whippet worked with a ferret?  Is the ferret ever mistakenly killed by the whippet?

Just curious!! Rachel :)

It does happen. Best I ever saw was a Staffie x Patterdale ratting in a cotton mill. It killed 6 rats & 2 ferrets in less than a minute. The brawl between the dogs owner & the ferrets owner was pretty impressive too.

Hi Rachel

I've worked Whippets & Ferrets many times without any problem, if you just take them out without first introducing them then you might have a problem?.

but if you introduce them at home in a calm enviroment and allow them to get aqainted then once out in the field there should? be no problem.

Thanks for the replies Mark and Terry.  

I have no knowledge of this type of 'working' - do you put the ferrets down the rabbit hole to chase out the rabbits for the dogs to catch?

Hi Rachel

I've tried getting the dogs down the hole but ? (only Jokeing)

if your not useing purse nets then you would put your ferret into the rabbit hole and stand a few yds behind the holes holding your dog facing the holes, as soon as a rabbit bolts from the hole you release the dog and hopefully they catch it, you then call your dog back hopeing that another rabbit will follow ect.

if your useing nets then you would cover the holes with the nets and then again stand a few yds behind the holes or to the side which ever is best for the situation only this time you only release the dog if you have missed netting a hole and a rabbit bolts from this one or if the rabbits misses getting caught in a net as it bolts.

dogs very seldon make a mistake as the rabbits come out very fast and the ferrets come out slow giving the dog chance to notice the diferance.

hope this help Mark