The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Barf Diet

Jillb

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
I would be really interested to hear from others that feed the BARF diet to their dogs about what and how much they feed them.

I've been feeding Merlin and Willow on raw food for a few months now and have gone through the trials of what they will and won't eat i.e. they won't eat raw fish, certain vegetables and I can't get them to eat carbs/veg without meat.

A typical days diet would consist of chicken wings for breakfast, and for dinner raw mince (turkey, chicken, beef or lamb) with mashed vegetables.

I also give them tinned fish like mackrel about once or twice a week and eggs once or twice a week plus offal once a week on average. Occasionally i'll give them lamb chop bones too. A couple of times a week I include some rice or pasta in their food and a few leftover potato's here and there. Not a great deal of carbs all in all. I also give them semi-skimmed goats milk several times a week.

How does that sound, do you think their diet is balanced enough? How many chicken wings a day would you feed your dogs?

Thank you in advance.

Jill

Sounds pretty good to me :thumbsup:

You could perhaps give them the odd egg now & then & some natural yoghurt & honey.And i would supplement their diet with wheatgerm oil & seaweed powder or Keepers mix from Dorwest :)

My lot have one wing a day,but it's up to you,& as for the amount they have,i always go by if they're putting on weight,cut back & likewise up their food if they're getting too skinny :thumbsup:

alfyn said:
Sounds pretty good to me :thumbsup: You could perhaps give them the odd egg now & then & some natural yoghurt & honey.And i would supplement their diet with wheatgerm oil & seaweed powder or Keepers mix from Dorwest :)