The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Dog behaviour and parasite risk

BenMcAnoy

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hello, I’m Ben McAnoy and I am currently a PhD student at Queen's University Belfast, conducting research to understand how the behaviours of dogs and their walkers can influence the risk of parasite transmission. As part of this study, I am inviting UK residents who are over the age of 18 and who currently own a dog to participate in a questionnaire survey. The questionnaire will cover various aspects of your dog walking habits, interactions with other dogs, and any experiences you may have had with parasites. It should take between 10 and 30 minutes to complete, depending on how many dogs you have (up to 5 can be added).

Your participation is completely voluntary, and all responses will be kept confidential and used solely for academic research purposes. Thank you so much for your time and support. Your contribution will make a significant difference in our understanding of dog walking behaviours and parasite transmission risks. I look forward to your responses!

Kind regards,

Ben McAnoy.

Last edited:
Hello Ben, welcome on board. You won't be able to post a link to your survey as new members are restricted in what they can post, but we try to help out when it's for something like this. Check your mail box, I will message you and you should be able to reply with a link. I can post that for you here.

A few thoughts on the questions:

Q14: I assume that where you walk most often should be numbered 1, but it might be better to make this explicit. I also would have liked 'heathland' as an option - maybe add 'other' and let people fill in details.

Q18: I'd have liked 'none of the above'. My dog (now deceased) mostly explored in his later years but being a sighthound, not with his nose close to the ground.