The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Dog grooming

Tuckers

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hiiiiiiiiii, I'm starting my dog grooming career in September and would love to hear from anyone that's completed or about to start a course. I've no experience in grooming and would love to know what to expect

Yes, its hard at first to get to grips with the course it can be really hard but others can get to grips quite quickly.

I think @Jack-Russell-Lover is a groomer and may have some advice?

Thanks Joanne,
I haven't done a course, I did my training with my boss but I think courses are certainly worth it.
The dog grooming industry actually does not require you to do a course to be a groomer which is very silly as anyone can just pick up a pair of scissors and go and do grooming which obviously can be dangerous. This is why doing a course and/or hands on training are even more valuable! So it's a very good idea.
I think grooming is one of those jobs that is harder than it looks! It takes alot of concentration and care and it sometimes tests your patience! As some dogs just don't like being groomed! Also the dogs that are double coated and just have a brush out (Spitz, Newfoundland, German Shepherd etc.) are physically tiring!
And as always..practice makes perfect! (Well, maybe not perfect but as close as possible! )
Have you got a job with an existing groomer then?
If so what to expect depends on the type of groomer it is, some like us just have one person's dog(s) there at a time and there are others that have one person doing bathing, brushing and then someone who just does the cutting.