The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Pure Bred Chihuahua or Not?

Pterry97

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi all,

about 3 weeks ago I rehomed a chihuahua puppy. He’s about 6 months old and is doing really well settling into his new life with me.

The previous family he was with said he was a purebred chihuahua, but not certified. I saw his sire who looked like a normal short haired chihuahua, and saw a picture of his mother who was also a short haired chihuahua (owned by another family member). I have no intention of breeding my little chap, so his purity or whatever makes no difference to me. But this is my first time having a small dog so I wouldn’t know what I was or wasn’t looking for to identify anything out of the ordinary on a chihuahua in the first place.

Long story short, my guy is a kind of long haired chihuahua. But literally every single person who has asked for his breed has asked if he is a mix of something. This has happened at least 7 times now, nobody except me seems convinced he’s a full chihuahua. So out of curiosity; for those who know their chihuahua stuff, does my little guy look like a normal chihuahua to you? He’s only 6 months old so has a little more growing to do

21F71A1F-B712-4672-821C-7212E809259B.png
1D33B84C-F177-4DE7-B9FC-88A9EE9525FB.jpeg

55ED1BF0-00CF-406E-9BCB-BA026C90E36E.jpeg
CCCEA379-E237-485E-BC29-0F231EBDC684.jpeg
CC8CD342-FDF1-4672-8055-FBA6985C8E20.jpeg

My word: he's a stunner!

I am not an expert in chis, but he looks like one to me.

He looks like a chihuahua.
If the parents or maybe one of them has some long haired chihuahua in their breeding, then it is possible that this is what is showing through in your puppies coat, I think it is lovely.

Another non-expert vote for full chihuahua - and a very gorgeous one at that :)