The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Suggestions On Whippet Diet, Please!!

Ivan G

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hi

I'm new to the site, and after some suggestions. I have a 7 Month old Whippet, and we're experiencing a few problems with her stomach. I think its possibly down to my feeding more than anything else. She refuses to eat any dog food, as does our Jack Russell. What they are feed on is mixture of Ox Liver, Ox Heart and bakers complete biscuits. The Jack Russell is fine on this, However the whippet seems to be having the poos (sorry can't spell Diorreoh) about once a week. Looks like its time to change the diet a bit and would like some suggestions.

Cheers

Ivan

Hi there, welcome to k9. You'll find lots of whippet people here all happy to share their experiences and try to help where possible. I'm quite new to k9 too, but have owned whippets for the past 5yrs. Here's what worked for my boy Eli..... would suggest keeping your girl's diet very bland for the next few weeks, plain boiled rice & chicken being the obvious choice, perhaps a little scrambled egg. Should you wish to supplement with a complete food, i would go for Burns, which has no artificial additives and is recommended for sensitive tummies. Give her little tummy plenty of time to settle and if/when you feel the time is right to introduce other foods do it gradually, a tiny amount at a time (which i'm sure you already know). If the problem continues or worstens, a check up with the vet is in order, as there's a risk of dehydration, and to rule out anything more serious. Good luck!

Hi

I have had similar feeding problems to you but don't feel qualified to give too much advice as I'm still learning myself.