The Most Dog Friendly Community Online
Join Dog Forum to Discuss Breeds, Training, Food and More

Finally allowed to get a dog!

BigG

Registered
Reaction score

Join our free community today.

Connect with other like-minded dog lovers!

Login or Register
Hello all,

New member to the community as, after a huge amount of persuasion, my wife as finally agreed we can get a dog!

While we are all hugely excited about having a dog, my wife has given some conditions (me and the kids had to sign a contract ) and I was hoping to get some advice on breeds, routines, food etc etc.

We have kids (12 and 9) and lead active lifestyles with work, school and sports clubs, like most I assume!

We’re looking for a small/medium dog breed, short haired, and preferably not with a short nose, must be a more technical term for this but I’m still learning. If anyone has any advice, comments, words of wisdom for us they would be gratefully received. We lived in Staffordshire and would be looking to buy a dog from a licensed breeder when we return from our summer holiday in a few weeks time.

Thanks everyone in advice!

must be a more technical term for this but I’m still learning

It's brachycephalic ;)

First, licensed breeders only means that the dog is coming from someone who has a number of litters a year - that's not generally thought to be a good thing.

What you want to be looking for in a responsible breeder is someone who carries out health tests (specific to the breed) on the parents. This isn't just a quick vet check to say the dog is capable of siring or carrying a litter but proper tests to reduce the chances of inherited conditions being passed down. It will cost you more initially, but you are far less likely to have a poorly dog later in life that will cost more in vet bills, pain for the dog and heartache for you.